Save to pipeline

Temporary/event · Co. Waterford

St. Martin’s Special School, St. John’s Villas, Lower Grange Co Waterford X91 WPC0

Granted 14 Jan 2025

Key facts

  • Planning application 2460557 at St. Martin’s Special School, St. John’s Villas, Lower Grange Co Waterford X91 WPC0: Single-storey extension to our existing school building.
  • It was received by Waterford City and County Council on 24 Sep 2024.
  • Status: Granted 14 Jan 2025.
  • Work started on site on 14 Sep 2026, according to the commencement notice. It does not say which contractors or suppliers are appointed.

Source: the Waterford City and County Council planning register, checked 2 Jun 2026. Open the council's file

Planning applications in Co. Waterford

What and where

Single-storey extension to our existing school building

for the construction of a single-storey extension to our existing school building comprising of 4 no. additional classrooms with associated teaching spaces, toilet and shower / changing areas, multi-activity room and office, plant room and services compound, and the installation of solar photovoltaic panels to new roof area, in addition to adjustment / relocation of existing external hard and soft play areas and existing ball-court, the formation of new soft-play areas, new sensory garden, new hard and soft landscaping, 16 no. new carparking spaces (including provision for electric vehicle charging locations and 1 no. new disabled carparking space), new on-site road crossing on internal road network and extension to existing on-site drop-off area / lay-by and extension to associated drop-off canopy, complete with all necessary alterations to accommodate the works including the formation of a temporary contractor entrance to the south-western corner of the site and reinstatement of existing wall and fence upon completion of the works, and all associated site works and ancillary accommodation

Description as published by the council. Its text starts part-way through a sentence.

Location
Co. Waterford Map
Planning reference
2460557
Council planning fileGet alertsDownload PDF

Numbers and dates

Project type
Temporary/event
Received
24 Sep 2024
Granted
14 Jan 2025
Site start
14 Sep 2026

Timeline

  1. Application received
  2. Granted
  3. Site start

Outlook

What happens next

Work started on site on 14 Sep 2026, according to the commencement notice. It does not say which contractors or suppliers are appointed.

Work packages named so far

  • Roads and site development worksNamed in the application description
  • Services and drainageNamed in the application description

An outlook from the planning record, not a tender or a confirmed start date.

Documents and evidence

Check the record

  • Council planning fileThe application file 2460557 on eplanning.ie: drawings, reports and the decision.Open the council's file

Reviewed build intelligence

What the documents establish

Government document review

Decision recorded; appeal window open and no exact commencement link. Scale reflects the permitted decision record.

4 official documents inspected · Checked 2026-09-18 · Official file index

Access points

Application record · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 official inventory date date not stated: application scheme as submitted or assessed at that date, evidenced by 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan, 22214-CRO-X-XXX-DR-CE-03201 Drainage Layout, Planners Report; any later dated revision is a separate state.

What the evidence says
access will be via the existing entrance serving the site via the R- 708

Machine-extracted from the official document; automated reviewed for publication.

Why it may matter — interpretation
Exact official wording retained for any downstream trade or planning lens to read without re-extracting the documents.

What is not established
Machine-extracted and automated reviewed; later revisions, conditions, approvals and construction outcomes are not established.

Inspect the evidence

22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan · p.4
Page 4 · Issued Not stated · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 - 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan (construction_demolition_waste_plan); date not stated in the official inventory; retained revision sha256:da8d2014f620 · Checked 2026-09-18

access will be via the existing entrance serving the site via the R- 708

Parking

Application record · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 official inventory date date not stated: application scheme as submitted or assessed at that date, evidenced by 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan, 22214-CRO-X-XXX-DR-CE-03201 Drainage Layout, Planners Report; any later dated revision is a separate state.

What the evidence says
car parking

Machine-extracted from the official document; automated reviewed for publication.

Why it may matter — interpretation
Exact official wording retained for any downstream trade or planning lens to read without re-extracting the documents.

What is not established
Machine-extracted and automated reviewed; later revisions, conditions, approvals and construction outcomes are not established.

Inspect the evidence

Planners Report · p.2
Page 2 · Issued Not stated · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 - Planners Report (planner_report); date not stated in the official inventory; retained revision sha256:5f2f20495741 · Checked 2026-09-18

car parking

Service access

Application record · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 official inventory date date not stated: application scheme as submitted or assessed at that date, evidenced by 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan, 22214-CRO-X-XXX-DR-CE-03201 Drainage Layout, Planners Report; any later dated revision is a separate state.

What the evidence says
Vehicular access to be from new road serving the future Primary Care Centre previously approved under planning reference 13500109.

Machine-extracted from the official document; automated reviewed for publication.

Why it may matter — interpretation
Exact official wording retained for any downstream trade or planning lens to read without re-extracting the documents.

What is not established
Machine-extracted and automated reviewed; later revisions, conditions, approvals and construction outcomes are not established.

Inspect the evidence

Planners Report · p.2
Page 2 · Issued Not stated · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 - Planners Report (planner_report); date not stated in the official inventory; retained revision sha256:5f2f20495741 · Checked 2026-09-18

Vehicular access to be from new road serving the future Primary Care Centre previously approved under planning reference 13500109.

Landscaping

Application record · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 official inventory date date not stated: application scheme as submitted or assessed at that date, evidenced by 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan, 22214-CRO-X-XXX-DR-CE-03201 Drainage Layout, Planners Report; any later dated revision is a separate state.

What the evidence says
landscaping

Machine-extracted from the official document; automated reviewed for publication.

Why it may matter — interpretation
Exact official wording retained for any downstream trade or planning lens to read without re-extracting the documents.

What is not established
Machine-extracted and automated reviewed; later revisions, conditions, approvals and construction outcomes are not established.

Inspect the evidence

Planners Report · p.2
Page 2 · Issued Not stated · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 - Planners Report (planner_report); date not stated in the official inventory; retained revision sha256:5f2f20495741 · Checked 2026-09-18

landscaping

Play areas

Application record · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 official inventory date date not stated: application scheme as submitted or assessed at that date, evidenced by 22214-CRO-RP-SE-00501_Waste Management Plan, 22214-CRO-X-XXX-DR-CE-03201 Drainage Layout, Planners Report; any later dated revision is a separate state.

What the evidence says
external soft play areas

Machine-extracted from the official document; automated reviewed for publication.

Why it may matter — interpretation
Exact official wording retained for any downstream trade or planning lens to read without re-extracting the documents.

What is not established
Machine-extracted and automated reviewed; later revisions, conditions, approvals and construction outcomes are not established.

Inspect the evidence

Planners Report · p.2
Page 2 · Issued Not stated · Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 - Planners Report (planner_report); date not stated in the official inventory; retained revision sha256:5f2f20495741 · Checked 2026-09-18

external soft play areas
Remaining document questions
  • Inspect any later revision the authority replaces at the same URL.
  • Link the commencement and completion events when they arrive.

4 retained official PDF revision(s) from the exact Waterford City and County Council 24/60557 file list. Machine extraction reads bounded passages; drawings are not interpreted.

How we know this

From the Waterford City and County Council planning register, checked 2 Jun 2026. We link to the council's own file so you can check the official record before you act. Facts from the planning documents were read from the documents in that file.

Site starts

Commencement notices for this permission

  1. 14 Sep 2026Work started · Single-storey extension to St. Martin’s Special School, Waterford, comprising 4 no. SEN...

A commencement notice tells the council that building work is about to start. A completion certificate is filed when it is finished.

Explore the area

More planning activity near Co. Waterford

Get alerts for Co. WaterfordFree. We email you when new applications appear.

Free email alerts

Get new Waterford projects by email

New applications, decisions and site starts in Co. Waterford. Only when there is something new.

We send a confirmation link first. Nothing starts until you click it. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Email alerts for this applicationMore alert options